Cheryl Van Deusen and Alex Shampoe Awarded Top Honors in Endurance

Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian (USEF) is pleased to announce the winners of two prestigious awards in the discipline of endurance. Cheryl Van Deusen has been awarded the Maggy Price Endurance Excellence Award, and Alex Shampoe has been awarded the Brunjes Junior/Young Rider Trophy.

The Maggy Price Endurance Excellence Award is presented to the top U.S. senior endurance rider. This award is sponsored by Gold Medal Farm and Larry and Valerie Kanavy, in memory of Maggy Price. Price was the 1992 FEI World Endurance Championship silver medalist and was instrumental in the development of international endurance in the U.S. The Brunjes Junior/Young Rider Trophy is presented to the top U.S. young rider and is awarded in memory of Kathy Brunjes. Brunjes was a successful endurance athlete and an active supporter of the junior/young rider program.

Van Deusen (New Smyrna Beach, Fla.) is currently ranked in the top 10 on the FEI Endurance Open Riders World Ranking list. Van Deusen’s characteristic consistency and dedication shown through again throughout 2018, ending the competition year at the Broxton Bridge CEI3*-160 and CEI2*-120 where she placed fourth and second, respectively. Van Deusen also rode for the U.S. Endurance Team for the FEI World Equestrian Games™ Tryon 2018 with Hoover the Mover, her 15-year-old Arabian gelding. This impressive combination currently tops the FEI Endurance Open Combination World Ranking list. This is the second consecutive year Van Deusen has won the Maggy Price Endurance Excellence Award.

Shampoe (Colorado Springs, Colo.) kicked off the competition year with a top-three finish in the High Roller CEIYJ2*-120. She went on to win the Fire Mountain CEIYJ2*-70+ (2) and three more CEIYJ2*-120 competitions throughout the year, all with different mounts. This ambitious young rider strives to develop her skills and gain more experience, most recently competing and completing a CEI1*-80 and a CEI2*-120 in Dubai.

The 2018 Maggy Price Endurance Excellence Award and the Brunjes Junior/Young Rider Trophy will be presented at the Horse of the Year Awards presented by AON during the 2019 US Equestrian Annual Meeting on Saturday, January 12, in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Stay up to date on U.S. Endurance by following USA Endurance on Facebook and US Equestrian on Instagram and Twitter. Use #USAEndurance.

Previous articleTodd Minikus and David Oliynyk Dominate ESP Holiday III Winning $30,000 Semican Grand Prix and The $5000 USHJA National Hunter Derby
Next articleUS Equestrian Awards Tessa Divita with 2018 Vaulter of the Year Honor