The Age-based Japanese Horse Races Worthy Of A Bitcoin Bet

Japan has a remarkable and rich centuries-old horse racing history that is different from any other. The age-based system used by the Japanese Racing Association tries to ensure that horses participating in a race have an equal opportunity at winning. So, are they worth a BItcoin bet? Absolutely, yes.

The JRA age-based race regulation system not only ensures the horse racing is in top condition but ensures that the races are being run by some of the best the Association offers. Their rating system has different grades where Grade I is the pinnacle of racing excellence. 

This allows too for grade classified horses to race within their strengths and abilities in the bid to rank higher on the grading board. Thus it is up to the punter to be informed as to how each horse has been able to achieve the class and level at each racing opportunity.

Two-Year-Old Races

Horses, in Japan, are required to enter a year of training at a JRA-registered academy before qualifying to enter the racing circuit.  At these centres, horses are trained and assessed and provided with the necessary treatment for a clean bill of health before racing participation. Fillies and Colts are entered into Novice and Maiden racing categories as their first-entry races. 

There are two types of horse classes these horses may enter after training: thoroughbred flat races or steeplechase races being offered by the JRA. Flat races have an annual race calendar of about 288 races whereas steeplechase races have a total of about 128 races. Horses in this age grouping can only start participating in races from June – thus only able to participate in half the year’s races. This gives bettors time to follow horse racing news and the budding career of any filly or colt in anticipation of placing a bet the next time their favourite races. 

Horses work towards gaining higher grading based on wins within their respective age categories. The higher standing will mean being able to participate in more and better races the following year. This age group can race in the Hanshin Juvenile Fillies, Asahi Hai Futurity Stakes and Hopeful Stakes run at the end of the year. Horses that perform well in these races are said to show promise for future races and are determinants for future performances.

Three-Year-Old Horses Triple Crown

At three years, horses have had at least one year of racing experience and have had the opportunity to win a race or two. Their grading would have been included and they would now have the opportunity to enter some more lucrative races.  From here onwards, the horses will have their first full-year race participation calendar to prove their skills and capabilities.

The popular races for the age group are the NHK Mile Cup and Victoria Mile for fillies and mares. As the name says, the race is a mile long.  Short-distance races are the Takamatsunomiya Kinen and the Sprinters Stake. 

A win in all Satsuki Sho, Tokyo Yushun and Kikyka Sho is the coveted Triple Crown title in the same year. Through the years the title has been won only eight times.  The Fillies Triple Crown title is when a horse wins the Oka Sho, Yushun Himba and Shuka Sho races in the same year, with the title being won only six times through the years.

Some horses, based on their performance, could be selected through a fan vote to participate in an older horse race. Races that make allowances for three-year-olds are the Arima Kinen and Takarazuka Kinen and Arima Kinen races

Horses Four and Older Important Races

At this age, it is expected that a horse would have reached their peak and have gained ample experience and grading. Horses in this category would have a string of wins under their belt.

The coveted races for the Triple Crown are the Tenno Sho (autumn), Japan Cup, and Arima Kinen (Autumn) races which too need to be won in the same year. The Tenno Sho (spring) race is the longest race run by the horses at 3200m. The calibre and standard of horses are so competitive that the Triple Crown within this age group has only been won twice.

Grading and ranking play important factors in which races the horses can enter. Points are earned through the number of wins a horse can accumulate in its career. There are G I, G II and G III based on the prize earnings being used as points. The fourth level is Open Class.

A horse on this level will no longer be able to compete in conditional races. Horses in open class level now have to race in the same class or above class level races. For popular races, a comparison of prize earnings or points may qualify a horse for a race.

Final Thoughts

The JRA system allows for a hands-on and engaging experience in horse racing. The sport will require some insight, into whether the selection betting is on the G I horsing action or from the G III selection. Fortunately, there are statistical guides for each category that can align with your Bitcoin bet.