Kady Abrahamson Pilots Banco du Moulin to WEC Welcome Stake Win in Wilmington

Abrahamson soars to win the $10,000 WEC Welcome Stake. Photos courtesy of Winslow Photography.

Edited Press Release

Wilmington, OH – Nearly two dozen horse and rider combinations gathered in the Sanctuary Arena Thursday to contest the $10,000 WEC Welcome Stake. Just seven pairs advanced to the jump-off as unlucky rails proved to be a determining factor for many.

Bobby Murphy of Lexington, Kentucky, set the course where Kady Abrahamson and Banco Du Moulin (Popstar Lozonais x Gerboise Du Moulin) delivered a fault-free first round in 71.362 seconds, well under the time allowed.

When asked about her ride, Kady exclaimed “If he fits, we will make it happen! Banco is so adjustable and goes with whatever I ask of him. I pulled a total ‘David Beisel’ move to the last jump…we were the only ones in the class to attempt it!”

The risky inside turn to the last fence pushed Abrahamson into the lead by a long shot, with the pair crossing the timers in 38.925 seconds to win the class handily.

“You probably noticed me crying after our ride. I recently sold ‘Banco’ and this moment is so bittersweet to me! He has the best new owner and will live his absolute best life in Florida. No matter what happens during Saturday’s Grand Prix, I will just cherish the moment and I’m so thankful for everything we have done together,” shared Abrahamson.

Banco received a well-deserved hug after an impressive win. Photos courtesy of Winslow Photography.

Emma Callanan and Hart Farm’s Futuro Certo CSG (Verdi x Cantara) rode to the second place spot. Abrahamson and Maraca LS La Silla finished third.

$10,000 WEC Wilmington Welcome Stake Results:

1. Banco Du Moulin, Kady Abrahamson: 0 | 0 | 38.925

2. Futuro Certo CSG, Emma Callanan: 0 | 0 | 41.428

3. Maraca LS La Silla, Kady Abrahamson: 0 0 | 41.776

4. PDR Pinion, Diana Conlon: 0 | 0 | 48.992

5. Capiche WW, Rebecca E. Mac Williams: 0 | 4 | 44.236

6. Jamiroquai, Natalie Thornell: 0 | 4 | 46.480

7. Jarocco Blue, Sam Berry: 0 | 8 | 43.613

8. Diaz Barbotiere, Izzy Beisel: 4 | 66.848

9. Corvet Enigma, Patricio Rodriguez: 4 | 73.179

10. Hendrik Wildricks, Richard L. Rinehart: 4 | 73.23