IHSA Athletes to Compete in the Taylor Harris Insurance Services NHS Adult Equitation Championship

Hannah Brown and Dimacho won the 2018 Taylor Harris Insurance Services National Horse Show Adult Equitation Championship. Photo by Lenore Phillips/Phelps Media Group

Fairfield, Conn. ­­– Oct 24, 2019 – Athletes from the Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association (IHSA) will showcase their equitation at the iconic National Horse Show in Lexington, Kentucky. Founded in 1883 and originally held at Madison Square Garden, the storied show is the host of the coveted ASPCA Maclay National Championship and three other equitation finals, including the Taylor Harris Insurance Services (THIS) National Horse Show (NHS) Adult Equitation Championship. The leadership of the National Horse Show invited IHSA members to participate in the THIS NHS Adult Equitation Championship, held the first weekend of the show on Saturday, Oct. 26. The first round of the class is expected to begin at 5:45 p.m.

“We thank Jennifer Burger, president of the National Horse Show Association of America, and her team for inviting our riders to compete and IHSA board member Michael Dowling for coordinating the effort,” said Peter Cashman, interim executive director of the IHSA. “This is a wonderful opportunity for our riders to participate in a world-class competition and have an incredible experience.”

Zoe Lewczak from the University of Virginia, Madison Myro from Centenary University, Maggie Niesen from Miami University and Taylor Schissel from Boston University are four of the IHSA competitors that will vie for the championship at the National Horse Show. Madison Myro photo by EQ Media all other photos provided.



Lanie Bricker – Evanston, Illinois – Boston University – Phyllis Cervelli – Neuroscience – 2021
Kayla Jacobs – Savannah, GA – Georgia Southern University – Eleanor Ellis – Nursing – 2021
Zoe Lewczak –  Nokesville, Virginia – University of Virginia – Claiborne Bishop – Cognitive Science/ Neuroscience – 2021
Arielle LoGiudice – Freehold, New Jersey – Centenary University – Michael Dowling – Equine Studies – 2022
Madison Myro – Las Vegas, Nevada – Centenary University – Michael Dowling – Equine Studies – 2022
Meaggan Niesen –  Cincinnati, Ohio – Miami University – Heather Pinnick – Psychology and Family Science – 2021
Taylor Schissel – Los Alamitos, California – Boston University  – Phyllis Cervelli – Biomedical Engineering – 2022

Previous articleSavonna Adell: Switching Rings to Achieve Her Dreams
Next articleCharlotte Powers Changes Gears to Win $10,000 WIHS Adult Jumper Championship