PCHA Trophy Tidbits: Grand Prix and Extra Awards Details

We are wrapping up our features on the PCHA Trophy Tidbits, and in this article we review the two Grand Prix awards as well as various other uncategorized awards!  

  1. PCHA “Rookie” Grand Prix Rider of the Year – This award is sponsored by the EMO Agency, Inc. and Mike Moran and will be given to a PCHA-member based on money won in Grand Prix classes offering $25,000 or more at PCHA sanctioned shows. Riders are only considered “rookie” up to the year that they enter 3 or more Grand Prixs with prize money equivalent to $25,000 or more. 
  1. Leading Grand Prix Horse and Rider – Broken down into two individual awards, these two leading awards will individually go to the leading rider and also the leading horse. If a rider competes multiple horses in a class, the money won on the highest-placed horse will count. The award is determined by calculation of prize money won by current PCHA members in events offering $25,000 or more in prize money and at least 4’7” in height. 
  1. Carma Awards – This award honors the highest-scoring Thoroughbred that has accumulated the highest points at the end of the year. 
  1. Rachel Joseph Achievement Award – Awarded to a parent that shows outstanding dedication and support of their child and of the sport, this trophy stands in memory of Rachel Joseph. She could always be seen working tirelessly to help promote her daughter Juliette and to further her career by getting her catch rides and usually acting in a supporting grooming role for her. She was the perfect example of the parents’ crucial role in this ecosystem.
  1. Mark Mullen Sportsmanship Award – This trophy features a bronze sculpture and will be awarded to the Hunter/Jumper rider having displayed the best sportsmanship in that year. 
  1. Susan Hutchison Parents Award in Memory of Her Parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Hutchison – This award is presented at each banquet and features a perpetual tray that is given to the most outstanding hunter/jumper parents chosen by the PCHA board. 
  1. The Courage and Commitment Award – Recognizing courage and commitment, this perpetual trophy has been sponsored in the names of Scott Wilson, Karen Healey, and Archibald Cox. 

Celebrating riders across both english and western disciplines, the Pacific Coast Horse Shows Association utilizes its year-end awards banquet to include many sanctioned horse shows that align with its values. Founded in 1946, the association promotes the interests of owners and exhibitors, cooperates with exhibitors, officials, and management of competition, publicizes and advertises PCHA sanctioned shows, encourages and assists owners, exhibitors, and breeders of horses to maintain, develop and improve the quality of horses of the Hunter, Jumper, Western and Reining divisions. By the finale of the season, approximately 300 year-end championship awards will be presented. To learn more about the PCHA, please visit www.pchashows.com.