The Introduction To The History Of IPL

Cricket is madness in India, with 100 million Indians watching and enjoying cricket competitions all around the year. Many cricket fans gather in the stadium to cheer their favorite team from the stands.

Recently, the cricket team of India has enhanced a lot in all departments, such as batting, fielding, and bowling. The Indian cricket team has done its best to bring awards home. And over the years they have won many championships and series.

Considering the cricket trend among Indians, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chose to introduce cricket with a new format. They introduced the T20 form with matches of 20 overs each.

The Introduction To IPL

The concept of creating an Indian Premier League IPL structure was originally brought up by Lalit Modi, the vice president of BCCI. Modi was ready to create a league that could attract people of all generations, including young cricket lovers.

He acknowledged that this T20 format tournament would deliver high–quality matches that would make viewers forget about slow-paced matches like the 5 day Test Match.

Developed on a round-robin concept, the IPL includes group stage games and the last four playoffs. This format allows each team to play with the other team at least one time. The top four teams then move to the previous playoff stage.

India hosted the first season of IPL in 2008 with eight teams divided into two groups. The games were fast-paced and exciting. Plus they finished in just a few days and were held in various cities of India.

IPL teams

The last decade in cricket history has seen major shuffling and differences in the IPL teams. IPL began with eight teams from various states of India. Most were stopped and were not allowed to participate in coming leagues. However, some groups created their mark in the IPL history and served well consistently.

Mumbai Indians, also known as MI, is a cricket team symbolizing Maharashtra and owned by Reliance Industries, one of India’s wealthiest industries. MI is the favorite of many cricket fans as they have been victorious on several occasions.

Considered the Champions of IPL, Mumbai Indians collected to bag the trophy five times, which is admirable. In addition, they were very close to the victory in 2010, but Chennai Super Kings beat them with comparable stats. 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are undoubtedly the kings of IPL and secured an IPL trophy four times, runner ups winner five times, and reached the semifinals one time only. Their hard work and dedication to win the matches and these accomplishments are huge in IPL. Also, MS Dhoni is a captain of CSK, who is well known for his love and experience of cricket. 

Other IPL teams displaying their spirit on the cricket fields are Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, and Kolkata Knight Riders. Some teams have never won the trophy.

Changes in years

IPL structure is fresh and refreshing. Thus, it is received by Indian and International audiences very well. People love watching their favorite Indian and multinational cricketers playing jointly.

The time of IPL matches also makes them nail-biting and enjoyable. Most individuals are not able to track five–day test matches. The test matches also became tedious at times, but IPL matches stay for only three hours, which suits most working people and students.

The new season of IPL 2022 is nearly here. It pledges to be more exciting and excellent as this edition of IPL will see two additional new teams contesting for the trophy.

Apart from eight teams who used to fight against each other in the championship, there will be ten teams this year. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Gujarat Titans (GT) are also set to show their talent in the IPL. 

The administration has made some new changes that need to be adopted by the new teams. The ten teams are divided into two groups according to their arrangement, and each group has five teams. You will enjoy 14 games among these teams, with four playoffs among the most promising teams.

Wrapping Up!

The IPL is a fun league where the spectators watch International and local players play jointly. It also delivers an establishing ground for young players to make their profession successful.